Main content start

Faculty Awards

The Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures would like to recognize the accomplishments of our faculty. A few are mentioned below:

Haiyan Lee
  • Humanities Seed Grant, 2023-25

    • The Humanities Seed Grants support faculty members interested in producing innovative public-oriented research. For "New Civilizationisms," with Thomas Hansen (Anthropology), Lerone Martin (Religious Studies), and Serkan Yolacan (Anthropology).

  • ACLS Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowship, 2015-16

    • Residential fellowships support long-term, unusually ambitious projects undertaken by recently tenured scholars in the humanities and related social sciences, with the goal of producing a major piece of scholarly work. For "A Certain Justice: Toward an Ecology of the Chinese Legal Imagination."

  • Joseph Levenson Prize (post-1900), 2009

    • ​​​​​​​The Association for Asian Studies awards two prizes (pre-1900 and post-1900) to English-language books that make the greatest contribution to increasing understanding of the history, culture, society, politics, or economy of China. For Revolution of the Heart: A Genealogy of Love in China, 1900-1950.

Indra Levy
  • Irene Hirano Inouye Memorial Award, 2022

    • Indra Levy of Stanford University has received the first Irene Hirano Inouye award from the Terasaki Center for Japanese Studies, which honors her contributions to Japanese studies as leader of the Inter-University Center for Japanese Language Studies and as a scholar and mentor.

Yoshiko Matsumoto
  • Stanford Changing Human Experience Grant, 2020-23
    • Part of Stanford's Long-Range Vision, intended to foster research in the humanities and social sciences that explores our changing world, including our changing bodies, minds, globe and political structures.
  • Office of Community Engagement Seed Grant, 2022 - 2023
    • For project “Connecting generations through haiku".
  • Presidential Fund for Innovation in the Humanities  2009 – 2011    

    • For project “Noun-Modifying Constructions in Languages of Eurasia: Reshaping theoretical and geographical boundaries”. 

  • Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching, School of Humanities and Sciences, 1999
    • ​​​​​​​The Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching recognizes the efforts of exceptional teachers in the School of Humanities and Sciences and is given for excellence in graduate education, achievements in teaching, and first years of teaching at Stanford.
Chaofen Sun
  • CTLA-US Outstanding Contribution Award, 2022
    • This award from the Chinese Language Teachers' Association of USA recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of Chinese language education. Prof. Sun's accomplishments will be celebrated at the 2022 CTLA Virtual Conference and CTLA 60th Anniversary Celebration.
Dafna Zur
  • Phi Beta Kappa Undergraduate Teaching Award, 2020-21
    • The Phi Beta Kappa Teaching Prize recognizes excellence in teaching and the ability to inspire intellectual and personal development in and beyond the classroom. 
  • NextGen Scholar, 2020-21
    • The U.S.-Korea NextGen Scholars Program is an initiative by CSIS Korea Chair and USC Korean Studies Institute with support from The Korea Foundation to help mentor the next generation of Korea specialists in the United States. 
  • Stanford Humanities Center Manuscript Review Workshop, 2016-17
    • The Manuscript Review Workshops provide timely feedback to faculty members who are preparing monographs or other academic manuscripts of similar scope for submission for publication.
Ariel Stilerman
  • Phi Beta Kappa Undergraduate Teaching Award, 2023
    • The Phi Beta Kappa Teaching Prize recognizes excellence in teaching and the ability to inspire intellectual and personal development in and beyond the classroom.